3 Lies You Need to Know Facebook, Here are the three lies that expressed by Vice President for Public Policy Facebook, Elliot Schrage, sperti in Lampung news from VIVAnews quotes when responding to questions of consumer privacy rights, quoted by PC World and the New York Times.

1. When asked why Facebook does not make all the privacy settings on Facebook as ‘Opt-in’ or wholly ‘private’ unless the user wants and turn it into a ‘public’, Elliot provide answers and arguments are ‘riveting’.

“It’s all opt-in on facebook. Joining Facebook is a choice. We want people to continue to use Facebook every day. Add information, upload photos, post a new status, like a page.Everything Opt-in. Please do not share information, if you are not comfortable. ”

In fact, when joined to Facebook, most of the new user data such as biographies, interest, posts, friend, family, relationship, location, education and more, will be directly published to the public, because the default setting is’ share with everyone ‘. This is a model of ‘Opt out’, not ‘Opt In’.

2. When asked what if users delete their Facebook accounts, Elliot said that users can perform permanent deletion. “If you are not using Facebook anymore, you can delete your account. This deletion is permanent, and your account will not be activated again. When we process requests deletion, we immediately remove all information associated with that account. Message and postings on the wall will remain, but teratribusi with Facebook users anonymous. The content that you once created, can not be accessed at Facebook, and not on the link to your personal information anywhere. ”

In fact, what was said Elliot is not true. When about to delete a Facebook account, users will not get an offer the option to delete them permanently. All you can do just ‘deactivate’. Button ‘delete account’ will not be found easily. Users must go first to the Help Center and do a search ‘delete account’ so that will take you to the FAQ page.

In question number 5 which reads “I want to Permanently delete my account. How do I delete my account? “After that, in the new answer there is a link that directs users to the permanent removal option.

Fuss again, after which the user compounded with a window that asks for a password complete the CAPTCHA puzzle. It had been so, we also do not account deleted immediately, because only in the deactivation of the past two weeks. In between it all, Facebook is still sending us an email containing a link is simple to re-log-on, which will immediately restore our account in an instant.

3. To the New York Times, Elliot said that the security of Facebook users awake. “For a service that is growing dramatically, we handle more than 400 million people to share the billions of pieces of content to their friends and the institutions that they notice. We think our track record for security issues and security, is unmatched, “said Elliot.

In fact Facebook has some problems in securing private data users recently. Last week, Facebook introduced a feature “Instant Personalization ‘which is a feature that allows third party access to Facebook user information and display it through third-party sites. For this feature, Facebook has launched their three partners, namely Yelp, Pandora, and Microsoft Docs.com.

However, a new feature that caused a gap that can be exploited by hackers to obtain key data users such as email, username, and all the data in a shared to “everyone”.

The gap was closed by Yelp, but on the same day found another loophole again. As a result, Yelp could temporarily turn off Instant Personalization features of Facebook, to find other new cracks.

In addition, two weeks ago, Facebook users were surprised by the events also had leaking of their chat conversations and data leakage, such as waiting lists and demand of friendship, as well as information that other potentially harmful. As a result of this bug, Facebook had to disable his chat feature.

According to the New York Times, Facebook’s privacy policy changes have economic motives. One of them is up to earn money by doing the customization of the target ads based on the data that appears on a person’s Facebook page.